Home > About Us > Advisory Board

Advisory Board

Jo BeallJo Beall is Director Education and Society and a member of the Executive Board at the British Council. A graduate of the London School of Economics, Jo’s past roles include Professor of Development Studies at the LSE and Deputy Vice Chancellor of University of Cape Town. She is a specialist in international education, international development, and cities in fragile and conflict situations, and a regular speaker at major conferences in these fields. Her work has taken her to Africa, Asia, and Latin America, with extensive periods of research in Afghanistan, India, Pakistan, and South Africa. She has written numerous books and articles on a wide range of topics including governance and civil society, women and development, and cities and fragile states. She is a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences and was recently awarded an Honorary Doctorate by the Open University.

Francis FukuyamaFrancis Fukuyama is the Olivier Nomellini Senior Fellow at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies (FSI), resident in FSI's Center on Democracy, Development, and the Rule of Law. He came to Stanford from the Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS) of Johns Hopkins University, where he was the Bernard L. Schwartz Professor of International Political Economy and director of SAIS' International Development program. Dr. Fukuyama has written widely on issues relating to democratization and international political economy. His book, The End of History and the Last Man, was published by Free Press in 1992 and has appeared in over twenty foreign editions. His most recent book, The Origins of Political Order, was published in April 2011. Other books include America at the Crossroads: Democracy, Power, and the Neoconservative Legacy, and Falling Behind: Explaining the Development Gap between Latin America and the United States.  


Mushtaq Khan is a heterodox economist and Professor of Economics at the School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London. In particular, he subjects what he terms the 'good governance consensus' of the Bretton Woods institutions and many non-governmental organisations to a thorough critique. His research focuses on institutional economics, the economics of rent-seeking, corruption as well as clientelism, industrial policy and state intervention in developing countries, especially around South and South-East Asian economic development.  Apart from his academic career, Khan has held appointments as consultant for a vast number of international institutions focusing on poor countries, among others the World Bank, DfID, UNDP and the Asian Development Bank; moreover, he has held positions as Visiting Professor at Chulalongkorn and Dhaka Universities.[5] Several of his articles have won prizes such as the Hans Singer Prize or the Frank Cass Prize. In addition, he is a regular commentator to the BBC's Bengali service broadcasts.


Joel NetshitenzheJoel Netshitenzhe is the Executive Director of the Mapungubwe Institute for Strategic Reflection (MISTRA). He is a Member of the Boards of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Nedbank Group and Life Healthcare Group; and a Champion within Programme Pioneer of the Nelson Mandela Foundation and Life College Association. He is a member of the ANC National Executive Committee, and also served as a member of the National Planning Commission (2010 – 2015).  Before joining the Government Communication and Information System (GCIS) as CEO in 1998, Mr Netshitenzhe was Head of Communication in President Nelson Mandela’s office. In addition to being GCIS CEO, he was appointed Head of the Policy Co-ordination and Advisory Services (PCAS) in The Presidency, in 2001. He headed the PCAS on a full-time basis from 2006 until his retirement in 2009.


Adebayo Olukoshi has more than 35 years of experience in the area of international relations, governance and human rights, both in the academic sector and in intergovernmental institutions. He was a member of the African Union Assessment Panel and Chair of the Board of several Think Tanks, including European Centre for Development Policy Management and Open Society Initiative for West Africa. He also previously served as Director of the UN African Institute for Economic Development and Planning, as Executive Director of the Africa Governance Institute, as Executive Secretary of the Council for Development of Social Science Research in Africa, as Director of Research at the Nigerian Institute of International Affairs; Senior Research Fellow/Research Programme Coordinator of the Nordic Africa Institute in Uppsala, and Senior Programme Staff at the South Centre in Geneva.

Dani RodrikDani Rodrik is the Ford Foundation Professor of International Political Economy at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government. He has published widely in the areas of economic development, international economics, and political economy. His current research focuses on the political economy of ideas, liberal democracy and economic growth. He is the recipient of the inaugural Albert O. Hirschman Prize of the Social Sciences Research Council and of the Leontief Award for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought. He serves currently as the vice president of the International Economics Association (IEA). His most recent book is Economics Rules: The Rights and Wrongs of the Dismal Science (Norton, 2015). He is also the author of The Globalization Paradox: Democracy and the Future of the World Economy (2011) and One Economics, Many Recipes: Globalization, Institutions, and Economic Growth (2007). He teaches courses on economic development and political economy.


Ngaire WoodsProfessor Ngaire Woods is the inaugural Dean of the Blavatnik School of Government and Professor of Global Economic Governance. Her research focuses on global economic governance, the challenges of globalization, global development, and the role of international institutions. She founded and is the Director of the Global Economic Governance Programme (www.globaleconomicgovernance.org). She is co-founder (with Robert O. Keohane) of the Oxford-Princeton Global Leaders Fellowship programme. Some of her recent books include: The Politics of Global Regulation (with Walter Mattli, Oxford University Press, 2009) and Networks of Influence? Developing Countries in a Networked Global Order (with Leonardo Martinez-Diaz, Oxford University Press, 2009).